Tags

, , , , ,

As the year nears its end, I find myself pondering on the lessons it’s leaving me with. This year has been one of profound growth for me. I’d have to say that’s been the year’s greatest achievement. The evening of the year, especially, has brought me spiritual growth. I wouldn’t say I’m there yet, baby steps first. As we say in Luganda ‘Basooka kwaavula.’ Directly translated, that’s ‘they crawl, first.’ Then they walk, then they run. You get the picture. They may even fly. Who knows.

I’d love to make a list of lessons left by this year/achievements, except I’m not much good at lists. That is with the exception of to-do lists. Boy, I’m good at those. Who isn’t? You simply hit off a list of  X things you think you might do on day Y, things you would like to do. Whether you actually do them is another thing altogether. To-do lists have a focusing effect on me. When I’ve got a to-do list I’m a woman on a mission, one that won’t rest until she’s crossed out everything on her to-do list.

  • Go to Mulago, talk to Prof., Dr. Mworozi
  • NDA, pick up certificate
  • Call Muzaale Sr.
  • Text Julie, ask about her ref
  • Submit application
  • Go lingerie shopping
  • Return home
  • Sleep
  • Ha ha

That was yesterday. Okay, it didn’t all go that well. Completion of items 3 and 5 depended on successful results from items 2 and 1, respectively. The latter didn’t go well, so the former were not accomplished. Item 6 was much fun, a well spent two hours. Who doesn’t love a little frill and lace? I know I do. Items 7, 8, and 9 proceeded without a hitch, and were successfully and brilliantly executed! As expected:)

If I were to write this year’s end’s list, though, top of it would be understanding and forgiveness. Those would have to be my greatest lessons for the year 2011. What have your’s been? Care to share?