Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Here are some highlights from the fashion show that was. First, some backstage action. The excitement, the make-up that you wouldn’t be caught wearing anywhere else but the fashion runway, and peeks of the outrageous outfits before they hit the runway (aren’t you the lucky one! :P ) Okay, some pics were actually taken after the runway. The models are more relaxed after the big walk, plus they’re not being herded into position to get on stage so they can have some fun.

Like I said before, it was all afro-centric so the hair and make-up had to reflect that. Prior to having the hair done I had forgotten how unflattering I feel I look with cornrows. I had only ever plaited them once before in my adult life, and this was the second. I was convinced they weren’t for me, and much as a few disagreed, I wasn’t convinced. Gratefully the outfits I was given covered my head, so no worries. The white things in the cornrows are cowrie shells… very traditional here, also once used as a form of currency, back in the days before colonialism.

Backstage action, now.

No, if your lips are painted black, just don’t smile. Alright, go on!
Make-up, make-up and more make-up….
Myself, In a Xenson outfit
Bark cloth and denim – designed by Xenson
This one was interesting… no sleeves or outlet for the arms anywhere, at all. Designed by Xenson
Ria, again. She had to walk out holding her bossom like that. The ‘blouse’ is made of raffia, a material we use to make baskets. The skirt is made from white and brown bark cloth.
The other view.
She had fun with it too. Stronger woman than I am, Ria is!
Would you wear this outfit? Go on, ‘fess up!:)
Pierra
Strike a pose, ladies! Camilla gave me robot…
Yes, these were outfits too. The girls had to walk in angles, walking sideways, as the bamboo was often longer than the width of the hallways backstage.
The things we do for fashion…
She had to walk sideways…
She, too, had fun with it…
There were bags, too. Made of tyres and hide…
I carried this one
As seen here
And here
Agnes
Her hair is made of raffia, her dress of white bark cloth embroidered with dolls made of banana stem fibres. We played with these dolls as kids!
So, what do you think?